SRECE-logo

Bolton Street - Educating Ireland’s Surveying
and Construction Professionals for over fifty years

intro-arrow

Staff

All staff are based in Dublin, Ireland, thus all phone extensions must be prefixed by 402 from the 01 area; 01-402 from outside Dublin; +353-1-402 from outside Ireland.

School Management & Administration

 Name
Number  
E-mail
 Thomas Dunne 3678 tom.dunne@dit.ie 
 Head of School    
 Martin Hanratty 3675 martin.hanratty@dit.ie
 Assistant Head of School    
 Garrett Keenaghan 3911 garrett.keenaghan@dit.ie
 Assistant Head of School    
 Dr. Alan Hore 3873 alan.hore@dit.ie
 Assistant Head of School    
 Dr. Lloyd Scott 3984 lloyd.scott@dit.ie

 Academic Advisor and  Partnership Coordinator

   
 Kelly Nash 3676 surveying@dit.ie
 School Administrator    

 

 

 

Construction Economics & Real Estate

 Name
Number  
e-mail
 Emer Byrne 3959 emer.byrne@dit.ie
 Frank Corcoran 3866 frank.corcoran@dit.ie
 Tony Cunningham 3729 tony.cunningham@dit.ie
 Eimear Fallon 3942 eimear.fallon@dit.ie
 Nicholas Ingle 3744 nicholas.ingle@dit.ie
 Myles Keaveney 3958 myles.keaveney@dit.ie
 Dermot Kehily 3876 dermot.kehily@dit.ie
 Fiacra McDonnell 3960  fiacra.mcdonnell@dit.ie 
 Declan McKeown 3741 declan.mckeown@dit.ie
 Charles Mitchell 3864 charles.mitchell@dit.ie
 Dr. Roisin Murphy 2925 roisin.murphy@dit.ie
 Richard O’Carroll 3865 richard.ocarroll@dit.ie
 Kevin O’Reilly 3739 kevin.oreilly@dit.ie
 Dr. Tracy Pickerill 3861 tracy.pickerill@dit.ie
 Thomas Power 3862 thomas.power@dit.ie
 Terry Prendergast 3863 terry.prendergast@dit.ie
 Anne Russell 3872 anne.russell@dit.ie
 Dr. Lorcan Sirr 3937 lorcan.sirr@dit.ie
 Stephen Walsh 3874 stephen.walsh@dit.ie

Spatial Information Sciences

Name
Number
e-mail
 Eamonn Donnelly 3732 eamonn.donnelly@dit.ie
 Dr Audrey Martin 3736 audrey.martin@dit.ie
 Dr Eugene McGovern 3731 eugene.mcgovern@dit.ie
 Kevin Mooney 3730 kevin.mooney@dit.ie
 Helen Murray 3734 helen.murray@dit.ie
 Niamh O'Reilly 3735 niamh.oreilly@dit.ie
 Dr Patrick Prendergast   3838 patrick.prendergast@dit.ie
 Dermot Hore    

Click here for a list of current staff research interests and here for a list of recent publications.

SIS group subsite

Construction Management and Technology

Alain Chenaux Lecturer
Tel: 3735 Email: alain.chenaux@dit.ie
Research Interests: Laser Scanning, BIM, Application of Technology to Learning, Remote Sensing, Geology, Earth Sciences

Ger Flynn Assistant Lecturer
Tel: 3964 E mail: gerald.flynn@dit.ie
Research interests: Financial Management, Project Finance

Ruairi Hayden Lecturer 
Tel:3871 E mail: ruairi.hayden@dit.ie
Research interests:
Construction Technology, Construction Management Building Information Modelling, IT in the Construction Industry

Garrett Keenaghan Assistant Head of School B.Sc Programme Chair
Tel: 3911 E mail: garrett.keenaghan@dit.ie
Research interests: Construction Management & Technology, Building Services  Specialising in Refrigeration & Air-Conditioning, Project Management Waste Management, Virtual Learning Environments. 

Donal Keys Structured Lecturer (shared with Department of Construction Skills)
Tel: 4016 E mail: donal.keys@dit.ie
Research interests: Construction Management

Sean McCarthy Lecturer, B.Tech Programme Chair 
Tel: 3740 E mail: sean.mccarthy@dit.ie
Research interests: Construction Technology, Structures, Building Materials

Tim McNulty Assistant Lecturer (pro-rata)
E mail: timfmcnulty@eircom.net
Research interests: Construction Law

Sonya Meekel Assistant Lecturer
Tel: 3886 E mail: sonya.daly@dit.ie  
Research interests: Construction Management, Safety Management, Sustainability in Construction

Maurice Murphy Lecturer, Higher Cert Programme Chair
Tel: 3877 E mail: maurice.murphy@dit.ie  
Research interests: Building Conservation and new technology applications, application of CD ROM and WEB design for educational courseware in building technology, Training and education in building conservation, Laser Scanning of existing buildings, BIM.

James O'Connor Senior Lecturer
Tel: 3886 E mail: james.oconnor@dit.ie
Research interests:Construction Management, Safety Management

Ray Turner Lecturer
Tel: 3723 E mail: ray.turner@dit.ie
Research interests: Construction Management, Corporate Management of Construction Organisations, Construction Safety, Public Private Partnerships

 

School and Industry News


Photo Gallery

A new gallery of photos of activities at DIT's School of Surveying and Construction Management is available here.


Surveying the Future

RICS promotion of careers for Geomatics Surveyors (from the Guardian newspaper).

See the advert.

Graduates Required

The Society of Chartered Surveyors Ireland (SCSI) has today launched its Employment Opportunities and Skills Requirements for Property and Construction Surveying 2014 - 2018 Report.

The report warns of a shortage of qualified graduates coming into the industry which could threaten the pace of recovery in the property and construction sector.

 


DIT's School of Surveying & Constrution Management held its first Surveying Week for Transition Year students in April 2014.

Please read our Surveying Week DIT 2014 blog to find out about the experience.

If you, or a transition year student that you know, are interested in taking part next year (and this may run at a different time of the year) please contact the school secretary at surveying@dit.ie

 

Birmingham Trip

DT111/2 & DT117/2 Joint Class Trip to Birmingham to visit sites as described in the accompanying Report on Birmingham trip.


Competition Win

Congratulations to Sai Sri Harsha Sunkrannei who received 3rd place in the final of the CEEC cega competition 2014.

Sai Sri is pictured below with Tom Dunne, Head of School of Surveying and Construction Management, DIT.

Photo

International Competition Winners

The School offers its congratulations on winning 1st place in the region 8 Associated Schools of Construction (ASC) competition in Birmingham City University on April 24th 2014 to Matthew O’Grady, Craig Grattan, Michael Hickey and Stephen McCarthy.

The team was mentored by Sonya Meekel who is also Vice Regional Director of region 8 ASC and a member of the competition's organising committee.‌

 


Surveying Week

The School of Surveying & Construction Management, DIT,  supported by the Society of Chartered Surveyors Ireland (SCSI), will host its first ever Surveying Week for Second level (Transition Year) students in the week commencing 28th April.

During the week you will be engaged in a range of practical and 'learning by doing' fun activities which showcase the different land/property/construction/geomatics programmes at Ireland's leading Surveying School and a selection of the careers that these programmes can lead to. Please click on Survey Week 2014 to view our information sheet.‌

For more information about making an application to participate please contact Catherine Noble cnoble@scsi.ie (by Monday April 7th).

Mary McLoughlin Receives Honorary Membership to the SCSI.

Ex staff member Mary Mcloughlin recently received Honorary Membership to the SCSI. This is only the second time such a distinction was given by the SCSI. Click on the picture for more information.

right-col_03
 
 
icon-large
The School of Surveying and Construction Management is located in DIT, Bolton Street Campus
 
DIT-logo